i am my father’s daughter;

18 Aug

as you keep growing up, you will forget that your parents are getting older.
you forget that they are not superheroes with superhuman strength.
you forget that they can fall ill and take a longer while to recover.

my dad has been there for me all this while.
he defended me when i did a lot of wrongs.
and was proud of me when i was at my highest.
through and through, he loves me still.

we’re not the type that hugs and says ‘i love yous’
we have our own very special way of doing so.
by helping each other out.
by simply spending time together.

and as i look at him on the hospital bed, recovering from stroke,
i am reminded of the time he took care of me when i was sick.

God would never give you an obstacle that you cannot handle.
I am lucky that this gives me time to look after him, to thank him, to love him.
I can only hope that He will give me a chance to spend more joyful time with my dad.

Leave a Reply

